The Dullsvillain

Slinging mud at the media of Dullsville (aka Perth, Western Australia)

Patti Gone!

with 7 comments

What! Patti Chong is calling it quits over at The Verdict, her blog at WA Today. For realsies!

i'm out

In true Chongstyle, her farewell post is a self indulgent essay packed with swipes at her detractors.

She starts off by quoting at length a sycophantic email from… some Notre Dame law student called Clarence?

…I am a university student at the University of Notre Dame in Fremantle. Throughout my course, I have noticed many issues in our legal and political system, which seems quite unjust and rigid…

I would just like to say that the things you have achieved and have fought for are indeed amazing. You have inspired me to tackle situations where the legislation appears unjust. As a Notre Dame law student, social justice has always been a common theme throughout my time at university. It may not count for much but I just want to congratulate you on your philanthropy and kind-heartedness throughout the legal and social realm (especially on Nova radio!). It may not seem like it, but you are indeed an inspiration to many law students.

Blerg. Give it a rest, “Clarence Paul”. There’s less humiliating ways to find a job. Honest.

Of course, Patti’s extended whinge about her meanie-pants critics is the real gold:

While I did not expect all readers to agree with my views or support the issues which are most passionate to me, I did not expect the vitriol and vilification from some of my detractors.

Issues can be passionate now? She goes on:

Some of the attacks on me personally, remarks about my children and my estranged husband were uncalled for, unjustified and bordered on the extreme.

To clarify, she is talking about the “estranged husband” who put an innocent man in jail for 11 years, never faced disciplinary proceedings, and got paid a bonus $276,000 $381,000 for it.

While we’re on the subject of “bordering on the extreme”:

In my years of prosecuting some of the more notorious and not so notorious criminal elements of our community, they seem to be more balanced and displayed more redeeming features than some of the people who have posted comments.

I bet this one is for Skink, who’s been irritating Patti like a bad case of the crabs for yonks now. But, that aside, Lots Of Love for this! Internet commentors are the worst! They have less redeeming features than the notorious criminal elements of our community. You know, like people who abuse children.

It’s not all just a big whinge, though. Patti has some well-worn advice for the haters:

My beloved mother used to tell me that if we have nothing positive to say about anybody or anything, then silence is golden.

And from mixed metaphors to Shakespeare:

If I am able to inspire just one person or change something positively by my pieces, then I suppose it has been worthwhile to have suffered the slings and arrows.

That’s a motiviational poster, right there:

Inspiration

Ok, I admit that I’m going to miss Patti. I mean, what am I going to write about every Thursday now? Surely there’s a limit to the play we can get from pissing off The Dwarf?

Written by Dick

August 13, 2009 at 10:47 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I particularly enjoyed the “if you haven’t got anything nice to say..” after all the schoolyard taunts she has directed my way

    skink

    August 15, 2009 at 5:06 pm

  2. according to the West Australian on Thursday, Bates’ payout is $606,000

    skink

    August 15, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    • Shit, you’re right! $381,000 golden handshake plus $225,000 in leave and other entitlements. If Patti has divorce proceedings on foot, she’s laughing! I’ve amended the post.

      Dick

      August 15, 2009 at 8:36 pm

  3. *my* Mother used to say: “If you’ve got it, flaunt it.”

    I can’t remember her saying anything like: “If you haven’t got it to flaunt, pretend that you have and flaunt it anyway.”

    Rolly

    August 16, 2009 at 12:02 pm

  4. My favourite Patti Patti malaprop was:

    I subscribe to the teachings of the Chinese sage, Confucius ” Do unto others what you don’t like others to do unto you”.

    skink

    August 16, 2009 at 1:47 pm

  5. […] First Patti Chong quits her blog at WA Today, and now her favourite furniture store and questionable source of F-grade publicity, Merrys Furniture, are packing up shop for a new location! This sequence of heartbreaking news has shocked the psyche of right-thinking people. […]

  6. Patti Chong is defending a convicted pedophile and is also on the board of Constable Care. She should be booted off the board. My children are not safe with people like that!

    Rebecca

    October 1, 2012 at 10:23 am


Leave a Reply

